Exercise 4

I am standing at the airport 3 meters away from the luggage trolley. The sound of the trolley was moving air particles around it around 70 dB SPL. There was a family standing around me chatting, moving air particles with the pressure of their voices around 65 dB SPL with fundamental frequencies ranging from 120 hz to 230 hz. I hear a vaguely familiar sound as I grab my luggage that weighed 50 kilograms. I don’t know where it is coming from. It is getting louder and the pressure of the air around my ear is increasing. I don’t know if it is closer. In my left ear very little sound information is presented I am receiving 20% of this sound. It’s a low frequency humming that imitates speech patterns. In my left ear I hear several frequencies at 65 dB SPL, so I turn my head to the right. The sound waves at 200hz and its respective harmonics reach my right ear at 60 dB SPL, but my left only receives 5 dB SPL. I continue to look to my right. As the sound gets louder I can tell it is my mom’s voice: a sound with a 210hz fundamental frequency. I keep looking for her but I can’t tell where the sound is coming from. I look toward the entrances that are 50 meters to my left because that is where she would enter the terminal. I saw my mom 1.8 meters in front of me. I am now able to ignore the humming in my left ear. I am able to orient the sound of it coming from my mom greeting me after a year away from home.

Screen shot 2015-11-13 at 12.26.10 PM Screen shot 2015-11-13 at 12.25.31 PM

Just by looking over the passage, there are so many elements left out just due to the subject matter of the exercise. Any and all emotional information is left out. The reality of this situation as it actually occurred is that I was extremely excited to see my mom in the airport, but if someone were to read this they would not think that from the cold, calculated way I described seeing my mom for the first time in months. This is much like Knight’s concept of how taking a picture is very much unlike real life because of the elements that are not included in the photo. Any subjective information is left out of the analysis of this moment between my mom and I that it seems to the audience to be a whole different situation all together.

Leave a comment